Living my dream

By Mima

Line-up

It’s been a day when I’ve done a heap of sorting out in the tunnel house, so that the strawberry plants can be spaced out on the staging to grow huge and luscious fruit. That’s the plan anyway.

I potted up basil and dill, and potted on veg plants to pass to friends this coming week. 

All the seedlings which still need some protection are now in trays on one of the raised beds. They’ll go outdoors to harden off in 10 days’ time, after the risk of a late frost has passed.

It is satisfying to see things one step closer to summer.

The head gardener meanwhile had a rest day…

Friends of friends of friends had arranged to drop round this afternoon to meet me and see Chez Mima. I knew nothing about them except that they’re hunting for a 3ha property in the North Otago countryside. 

It was an interesting hour or two. I think they had high hopes of us becoming pals. Unfortunately they also assumed things about me because of my lifestyle, so there were several moments when they looked startled, disappointed, and confused in turn. 

For instance, they asked why am I not a vegetarian? How could I risk my body by having Covid and other vaccinations? Why do I use fluoride in my tooth-powder when it’s ‘so dangerous’? Those are just three of many combative questions.

I tolerated the questioning, but I didn’t feel any reason whatsoever to justify my personal choices. At no point did I (nor would I) try to convince them that I’m right and they’re wrong. The same respect was not reciprocated. 

I was happy when they left. And there is very little chance that I will seek them out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.