nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Proportions

I can cook loads of things, but I can rarely remember proportions. That's not a problem for most dishes but when they include something that sucks up moisture it's good to know how much fluid they need to drink. Here I'm making dahl again - like the one I blipped the other week - and I needed to make sure that I had enough stock to start with. It's easy to add more (and to get rid if there is too much) but starting with roughly the right amount means that I can sit and have a read and a brew without standing over it.

The recipe also assumes that all chilies are equal. It calls for a red chili, finely chopped but doesn't specify what kind of red chili. As it goes, I used a WCfS in each batch but the outcome is different - this one is spikier but still only had one chili (plucked fresh from the plant when I needed it). 

It's very tasty and I've got plenty to freeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.