Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Two seasons in one day

Or: just a big thank you, dad, from your daughter.

In the hallway at my parents' home hang four pictures; the same view of the same oak tree taken during the the four seasons of in a year.
Even though I've never lived in their house, when I see this photo quartet in the hall I somehow feel at home.
Dad took them when they first moved there (more than 30 years ago now) of an oak tree in his favourite park.

Their home is for sale now, mum and dad are downsizing. Dad's health has rapidly deteriorated of late, what we have long suspected was officially confirmed last week. He has Alzheimer's disease.

I spoke to him on my birthday, 13 days ago. He was rather incoherent, but knew who he was talking to.
Last weekend we spoke again, and he thought I was my aunt Iris. The rest of the conversation was a confused one.

I telephone mum every other day now; apparently this once placid, sweet, kind, man has become angry and depressed. A horrible illness.

Every (working) day I take my lunchtime walk in my favourite forest.
Last week, thinking of dad's four seasons photos, I decided to have these two photos enlarged. Tonight I collected them up from the shop, and bought two frames to boot. As a tribute, I feel fifty percent of a quartet is better than none.

Dad: you inspire me, and in my eyes you're still the placid, sweet, kind, man.
I love you. Whatever happens.

Yours truly,
Your daughter
X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.