ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Polder Windmill, Nederhorst den Berg

No name, but more than worth a shot.  Built in 1636.  Originally 'assigned' to drain and maintain the Ankeveen polder.  Today, it's a private residence.  I think it looks super cozy, and I can imagine how warm it could be inside with some heating on.  With weather such as today's, the heating might very well have been turned on.

Semi-sunny going there, but that changed pretty quickly while I was busy.  Behind me is a short stretch of canal that doesn't seem connected to any 'live' body of water, but I doubt it is stagnant.  Not with the recent rains, anyway.  The windmill is facing the water, and I think this position is almost permanent since it no longer needs to operate.  A panoramic shot was definitely not possible.  As can be seen in the shot, though, I don't think it would have been possible from any position.  On the way back, the clouds thickened some more but it stayed dry.

Back home, supermarket errands, kitchen duties, ironing.  Also finished the mandala I'd been working on -- the colours are so intense!  Don't know for sure why they ended up that way, but I must have been quite, quite focused.  I think I'll take pictures of it in 2024, when I have space again for extra shots.  At this moment, I have only three slots left, and there are still two months to go.  Actually, the colour plate helped restore my mood.  The grey weather and short daylight hours have sunk my adrenaline levels so I have to do something to prop them up.

Thankful, very thankful, for a lot of free time.  I did say after my visit to Arras, two weeks ago, that that might be my last day trip for the year, and that seems to be the case, so it is good to be occupied with other things.  Tomorrow, AW's celebration!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.