BRIANW

By BRIANW

The Cardinal Value Of Standing Still, London

Woke up very early this morning feeling awful - sore throat, temperature, headache and aching limbs so it was back to doing another Covid test. After the advised wait it came back as negative so I crawled back to bed for another couple hours of sleep after downing a cold and flu tablet (max strength). On getting up again I felt quite a bit better so decided I might as well go into work. 
One of the places I pass through on my way from Victoria to where I work is the Cardinal Place retail and office complex and that was when I was stopped in my tracks by this very striking sculpture by the artist Sean Henry. I felt I just had to capture it in that blueish light of a very overcast autumn morning. He is a sculptor who fuses the discipline of ceramics with those of sculpture to create a fresh, innovative approach to representing the human figure. Having looked him up I found this revealing quote of his that says the theme of his work is  "the tension between the making and staging of the figures that seem to belong to the real world, and the degree to which they echo our experience and sympathies". It is such a perfect description of what I saw and it's so beautifully observed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.