Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

The Next Project in N Scale

While we are undertaking some remodeling in our home, the Sn3 layout is covered with plastic and I can't get near it.  So I thought I would tackle building the farm scene on the N Scale layout.

The blip is a collection of what will be the farm structures.  The house is a Wild West kit which is really full of very fine details.  It is called the Silverton House.  There are a barn and silo from Laser Kits.   I have a windmill water pump kit from  the NArchitect which is a laser cut brass model - to build very carefully (delicate) and soldered or super glued it together.  Finally, every farm in the 1950s needed an outhouse.  The Wild West kit is a double level outhouse because in the Colorado winter the snow can pile up over the lower level door so the folks use the upper level door.  Yes this is modeled from an actual outhouse.  No comment on what the inside looks like in the spring.  So I have painted the house and barn so far with white walls and red trim on the house and the opposite on the barn.  Many little pieces.   

I forgot but in my storage drawer I found a kit for a tractor and trailer to add later.  And an old Ford sedan kit as well.

The extra is not a train theme  - duh.  Our little town of 18,000 people has a very active local artist program paid by the city to create public art.  This piece is right next to the train rails and our river trail where we walk.  The art caught my eye in that it is made up of a multitude of bicycle parts - the wings are made of bike chain.  Looks like a dragon fly to me.  As any good art it brings many ideas and thoughts.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.