curns' corner

By curns

Turbine Theatre

When I went to university, I spent my first year in halls of residence. AKD, where I was housed at the University of Stirling, was demolished in 2014.  We used to think of life in terms of corridors. The replacement is flats and I imagine is more like the accommodation in 'Halls' - a musical under development we saw this evening at The Turbine Theatre. Excellent show, great performances. The stories, perhaps, a bit cliched (there’s the rich one, the gay one, the jock etc.) but not tedious. A couple of the songs were really great (the rest were good, no bum notes), the recurring ‘15B’ seemed a bit of a musical cookie-cutter but then was the most ear-worm of the songs so, what do I know? 

Brought back a lot of memories. It will be interesting to see where this show goes. 

We promised ourselves that we wouldn’t but the lure of the late-night chicken place meant I had a chicken burger when we got in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.