Living my dream

By Mima

Sea-light

Bean and I had a walk at Cape Wanbrow this morning. This is the view from the car park at the Lookout. The light on the ocean was wonderful as we launched ourselves down the hill on the Cape walk.

The canon in the shot (pun!) has an inscription on it mentioning Ypres, so I assume it must have something to do with WW1, but I’m struggling to find any information about it. This is typical of Oamaru which constantly undersells itself to visitors thanks to a hopeless lack of information. It’s a bugbear I have with most places in NZ and Australia, which compared to the UK have never grasped the benefits of good interpretation and signage. 


Either side of the walk on the Cape I did some fast shopping and visited the library to return and collect books. Fast shopping is my favourite kind: in, buy, out. No messing about.

We were home by lunchtime, after which I got stuck into the mowing and got all the short grass cut during what turned out to be the muggiest spell we’ve had so far this year. I ended up sticky and grubby, so diving into the shower as soon as the mowing was done was sheer bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.