CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

"Stars and Stripes"

Today is Flag Day. This holiday was created to celebrate the adoption of the American Flag as well as the 238th birthday of the United States Army. Our red, white and blue flag has served as a symbol of freedom for over 200 years since its adoption on June 15, 1777. The Flag consists of thirteen equal horizontal stripes of red and alternating white. In the top left corner is a blue rectangle referred to specifically as the "union," which bears 50 white, five-pointed stars arranged in nine offset horizontal rows of six stars alternating with rows of five stars.

I was heading out this morning to run some errands and I passed by a Retirement Living Center near my home. I noticed this wonderful group of ladies waving their flags at my car as I drove by. I could not resist taking the time to turn around and drive by them again. I rolled down my window thanking them for helping celebrate "Flag Day". I asked them if I could take their picture. They very enthusiastically said yes all together. It was a wonderful picture that has stayed in my mind all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.