CrocusMan

By TonyG

Iris unguicularis

Aka Winter Flowering Iris.   I had two large clumps out front but they are slug fodder there.  In the spring I lifted one clump to split and share with a friend.  I put my half into a large polystyrene vegetable box in the back garden, in a place where it gets more sun and, particularly thanks to being in this box, it's less accessible to the slugs.   It's best moved in spring but usually takes a full year to settle down, so I did not expect any flowers this year.  A nice surprise today :-)   I raised this form from seed quite a few years ago and lifted it from the Norfolk garden when I moved here.

A nice day in Aber Cafe.   An all male team which is unusual.  Think we did OK.   Afterwards I cooked for Mum and me before heading off to singing where I think we are making good progress with the new songs we've been trying out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.