The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Hiding..........

I went to Shoreham beach today, I had visited this area last October with a friend I used to know and realised (seeing all the dead flower heads and plants) it would be stunning in summer.
I wasn't wrong, the flowers were truly amazing with the shingle beach covered with Valarian, Viper's bugloss, Sea kale, to name but a few!
There is an old derelict fort as well, and round that I also found Sea Campion, and kidney vetch.....but the MOST exciting thing about the fort are the wall lizards (Podarcis muralis) that live there!!
These little colourful lizards are very quick, so getting a shot is not easy, as the slightest movement sends them scurrying into one of the numerous holes within the wall. However, if you are patient they will come out again to bask in the sunshine and warm up on the wall.
I managed to get this blip of one on his way back out, taken from a few inches away using my macro lens.
I have noticed that lizards like insects seem oblivious to the camera lens, so if you are really careful you can get close enough to get a decent shot.
A good exercise in patience methinks, but well worth it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.