The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Garden chafer (Phyllopertha horticola)

This hairy little beauty is a garden chafer beetle.
This time last year I went for a walk with my husband to Abinger roughs in Surrey, it was a windy cool day and if I remember correctly it rained! I had gone in search of orchids, but instead found several of these smart little beetles.
With this in mind (and the fact it was again very windy, cool and showery) I thought I would try again today...and guess what.. there they were, in exactly the same location as last year!
These beauties are about 1cm long, much smaller than the cockchafer I blipped a few weeks ago, and found throught the UK in parks, gardens and woodland edges.
They have chestnut brown wing cases, and a lovely dark bottle green thorax and head, covered in fine hairs (as you can see). the antennae are fan -like as with other chafers, but only have 3 flaps.
I hope you enjoy this second member of the chafer family.....I need to find the spectacular metallic green rose chafer now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.