The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Mother Shipton moth

It was my wedding anniversary today, but the weather was ideal for insect photography! (Overcast, and a tiny bit cooler thus avoiding harsh light and very flighty insects!!!) So my Husband suggested rather than stay in with him and go stir crazy I should 'go out for a bit'.
Today's blip is of a Mother Shipton moth (Callistege mi). It is day flying, and usually hangs around with the Burnet companion moth (which it was today).
It favours open grassy meadows, and is usually quite flighty.
The name Mother shipton is after the 16th century Yorkshire witch whose face is allegedly visible on the forwings, though sometimes this is very difficult to imagine!
I like these little moths, and like the Speckled yellow moth I blipped a few days ago it is one I am always glad to get a decent shot of.
Enjoy....and hope you can see the witch in the markings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.