A day in the life

By Shelling

Rural realms

On the first of the month I always spend some time looking through my finances, a habit from when I was working. Now that I'm a pensioner, with lots less to spend, I do this to avoid unpleasant surprises. If I'm running low a month, at least I know about it and maybe also why. Going to Spain wasn't cheap but I knew I could afford it just then and I don't like to worry about money too much when I'm abroad. 

The afternoon was spent on my other kind of wealth, -having enough firewood to last the winter. I've now sawed all of the remaining wood and is left with a huge pile that now needs chopping up with an axe. I'm going to get a lot of energy out of this wood, even before it ends up in the stove. After I finished sawing and straightened my aching back, I noticed the wonderful sunset in complete stillness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.