WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Contemplation

It's All Saints Day today, a public holiday, so what else would we do but go to the cemetery? We stumbled on the Spanish way of celebrating in 2019 -- everyone heads to the cemetery with flowers, scrubbing brushes, pails and other paraphernalia to polish and decorate their family tombs. 

It's not a sad occasion -- there's a bustle of cheerful people chatting and catching up with each other. But my eye was caught by this quiet moment of contemplation in an otherwise deserted corner of the cemetery. I was glad this young woman had a few moments to herself among the bustle. As you can see, in death Spanish people still live cheek by jowl in apartment blocks. Here though the cemetery has an upper level with very grand detached family tombs from which the haute bourgeoisie can look down on the plebs. Extra: the stairway to heaven.

It's also a blipday for me! Officially ten years, although I actually started blipping in January 2012 -- a couple of years' worth of days have slipped under the radar. I've run out of things to say about Blipfoto -- it's a permanent feature of my life now, and I'm so glad of it for the connections I've made and the lovely people I've met. I love the fact that I've captured so many memories too -- it's amazing how a day will come back to you just by looking at a single photo. I've renewed my subscription of course -- long live Blipfoto!

In the evening we went to the old part of town for a religious procession with the inevitable float carrying Jesus. It was a very small and low-key one compared to the massive Easter processions. We followed it for a short while and then retreated for wine and tapas. I did take photos, but it is very dark in those narrow streets, and they need work -- too tired for that now! Buenas noches, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.