curns' corner

By curns

I see

Last night I fell asleep trying to catch-up on the Apple keynote. I woke very refreshed today. It’s either that or all the parsnips I ate. I did watch the rest of the keynote. I thought the behind the scenes video was interesting.

I ran the stand-up today: it is my first go. Basically, I called out people’s names and they said technical things (only some of which I understood). But it lead to a discussion on some of the issues raised yesterday so I am happy that was a first experience. I don’t think Scrum Managers or Delivery Managers have anything to fear from my capabilities in that space.

A few month’s ago I got a pair of glasses specifically made for when I am working at my desk. I find my regular pair are not a sharp with the distances I have the screens at home (although they are fine for the screen in the office which are a bit closer). The trouble is, I haven’t been wearing them because I have to remember to swap my glasses when I sit down and when I get up and move away from the screens (I need my regular glasses for normal day-to-day). Today I have decided to force myself to wear them and I already noticed how much better everything on the screen felt. I am hoping that I will remember to do this each day. It’s just another habit I have to form.

The night’s are definitely drawing it. It’s dark. I made it out to my Tai Chi class. A group of students finished the short form this week and so did the demonstration. They were all great. I never did the demo because I finished in the early stages of COVID lockdowns and it was another year before we made it back into a class and, by then, nobody else who started with me was still around. 

When I was home I saw my first Christmas TV ad. It was for M&S. Too early? I am certainly not thinking about that stuff yet. I recognised Hannah Waddingham, Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Tan France. I believe there were others.

There were lots of weather warnings about travelling tomorrow because of the approaching storm. We’re due to head to The Island tomorrow. We’ll wait and see. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.