Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Inverness - An Unexpected Visit!

Autumn Adventure - Day 7

Yesterday’s blip ended up with an injured hand and wrist. This morning started off with a taxi to the hospital in Inverness. They were expecting me, and the plan was to do an X-ray, but after a night of sleep it was starting to ease up a bit and I was getting the feeling and mobility back, even though it hurt a lot!  So after a lot of poking and prodding it was determined it wasn’t broken so I was spared the X-ray. I did walk out with a splint however (see first Extra photo) which I was quite glad of, and promised the nurse I would not wear it constantly.

Since I was already in the city and had no intention of driving anywhere today, I decided I might as well take a look at Inverness. I have been here before, but must have only just passed through as I don’t remember anything!  I hadn’t originally intended to include it in my tour so today was an unexpected visit.

I was hungry by this time and so I headed for the Victorian Market as that sounded promising for food! Not only was it beautiful and historic (see 2nd Extra photo), I also found a delicious full Scottish breakfast (see 3rd Extra photo), thankfully with no black pudding (which I don’t like), but a serving of haggis (which I LOVE!). I couldn’t eat it all, so I took a sausage and some of the bacon back to the Campervan for another meal.

I enjoyed wandering around the city, taking a look at the churches, the river, the ‘wobbly bridge’ and a few shops. I spent most of my shopping time in Leakey’s Bookshop, a famous used book shop in what used to be a church. (See 4th Extra photo). I was expecting it to be good, but I wasn’t expecting anything quite that amazing!! There’s a sign on the door that said that tours of over 6 people were not allowed without prior arrangement!

I pretty much spent the whole day playing tourist, even though my wrist and hand were painful. I took the train back to Dingwall and the station was just 5 minutes from the campsite, so thankfully I didn’t have to pay for another taxi!

Collage:
Top left: The Victorian Market
Top right: A beautiful mural along an alleyway leading to The Hive, which appeared to be a support centre for those with mental health issues. There were several thoughtful verses pinned up along the wall.
Middle left: Free North Church (Free Church of Scotland)
Middle right: The Wobbly Bridge (officially known as the Grieg street bridge) Yes, it was wobbly!
Bottom left: Inverness Town House (City Hall)
Bottom right: Church St  


I am, of course, (nothing new) terribly behind with my blips!! My trip was action-packed, and I was gone a month, so I was way too tired in the evenings to think of blipping! I’m home now, off work with a yucky cold, so I’m determined to catch up!!

Feel free to scroll back if you want to see earlier days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.