Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Foyers

Autumn Adventure - Day 6

I moved on today, but not far. I left the campsite at Loch Ness and drove up to Foyers, a village on the hill just above it. I could have walked there, but it was long and steep, and I have a foot problem and have to be careful how far I walk, so I took the easy way up!

Foyers is also the name of the river which flows into Loch Ness, and here near the village are the Falls of Foyers. There are two waterfalls, an upper and a lower. I think this is the upper one! The lower one is twice as high! So I got a little hike in, but not too far, and what I saw was beautiful! I also had lunch at the Waterfall Cafe, and used their post office to mail something I’d been carrying all the way from home!

Inverness was only 30 minutes away, and I headed there after lunch. The views from the mostly single-track road were so beautiful that I stopped several times to take pictures. One time I stopped I slipped on some wet grass, falling on my knees and both hands. Other than being embarrassed (I don’t think anyone saw me, phew!), I didn’t think much of it. Picked myself up and carried on.

I stopped at this lovely little coffee-caravan in Dores, just south of Inverness. I had seen it 2 days ago on my way to the campsite, and thought it was beautiful. I got a coffee and a Victoria sponge cake to-go, and had a nice chat with the lady who owned and ran it. The cake was the best Victoria Sponge I’ve ever had (Mary Berry recipe) so if you’re ever in the area - GO THERE!

Once in Inverness I stopped at Tesco for food and petrol, and also made a stop to Halfords for new windscreen wipers. I have a lot of miles ahead of me and it might rain (!!!), so I wanted to make sure they were new!

My next campsite was in Dingwall, just outside of Inverness. By the time I got there I started noticing that my left hand was becoming very painful, obviously from my fall earlier. I didn’t like the feel of that at all! It only got worse as the evening went on. It started to swell up and I could hardly move it. I finally called 111 and after being passed to a nurse and then later getting a call back from a local doctor, an appointment was made for me for the next morning at the minor injury clinic at the hospital in Inverness. I had to ask another camper to set my bed up because I wasn’t going to be able to do it with only one hand! And I slept in my clothes because I couldn’t get dressed for bed. At this point I thought my trip might be over, and wondered WHO I was going to get to fly or take the train up to drive me home!!


I am, of course, (nothing new) terribly behind with my blips!! My trip was action-packed, and I was gone a month, so I was way too tired in the evenings to think of blipping! I’m home now, off work with a yucky cold, so I’m determined to catch up!! Scroll back if you want to see earlier in my trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.