Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Kaleidofiver

Today's blip is not at all as intended. In change today, I got one of the new 5-euro notes. as soon as I saw it I decided not to spend it, but to do a side-by-side comparison blip of the new note with one of the original ones which was already in my wallet. But this was not to be. Why? What I thought was one of the old fivers in my wallet turned out to be another of the new ones, so comparison wasn't on the cards.

At first I thought I'd just blip both fivers and leave it at that, but when that came out of the camera it hit me that this might be an ideal candidate for a kaleidoscope with a difference. So here it is.

-------------------------------

In other news: Our local church was packed to the whatevers this morning for my next-door neighbour's funeral. Indeed, I'd be surprised if the congregation wasn't several times larger than would be at Sunday mass. Vincent obviously touched a great many lives. He worked as a milkman for almost forty years, delivering door to door in the good old milk-bottle days. According to the eulogies this morning, he had a great gift with people, and was renowned for the manner he adopted when collecting the weekly bill (being next-door neighbours, we got special treatment, of course, and didn't have to answer a knock on the door). He was also a fanatic lover of sport (Gaelic football, hurling, soccer, golf were his main passions) and all his children participated in sport, with one earning a place on the Dublin senior team in both football and hurling.

A well as his extended family in Dublin and Roscommon and immediate neighbours, today's turnout would have included many of Vincent's customers from his milkman days and friends and drinking companions from the various sport clubs he was involved in. It was all quite moving, more a celebration of his full life than a mourning for his passing.

As we say in Irish: Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.