Journey Through Time

By Sue

Gerbera Daisy (and the crappy day)

This is the same gerbera daisy that the squirrels feasted on last summer. I put out the pretty new plant and the next day the flowers were gone. I was so mad, I could have spit nails. The plant survived, however, and bloomed again. We had the plant in this container, and by gosh, it came through the winter okay and is looking quite lovely. It's in a different spot from last summer, and so far the squirrels have left it alone.

I had such a crappy day. Well, sort of. No wait...yeah..a crappy day. Mostly because of that Acoustic Neuroma and trigeminal nerve situation. I never know what fun thing it will do any given day. Some days it just lets me alone and I have a lovely day. Some days it acts up and something will bother me. It might be in my ear, it might be a pain in my ear lobe, it might be some other creative thing. Today it decided to give me a throbbing pain right in my cheekbone area. It just about drove me nuts. I took my pill, and thank you Dr. Sax, my neurologist, for giving me that prescription for gabapentin. But it seemed like it took about 4 hours before that kicked in. Sweet relief...finally.

During my crappy day I made Dr. Oz's green drink, which was interesting and a little time consuming. If I'd had the fancy, expensive juicer it would have been a piece of cake. I don't, so...had to use my creaky old food processor and then my blender. It has a strong taste because of the lemon, I think. I had to add some stevia to sweeten it up some, but it still has a bitterness to the flavor. Supposed to be good for you, I guess. I sure hope so, as I have every intention of ingesting this green goo. It is very thick and I ate it with a spoon. His fancy juicer turned into a lovely liquid. I couldn't get it to do that, even with added water.

I also baked an easy cake from a mix for my aunties birthday celebration which is tomorrow. Her birthday was last Wednesday, but we will all go out to dinner tomorrow. We are looking forward to that.

And the weather has cleared, the sun came out and I sat outside with the sun on my back when I was feeling crappy and it felt so nice. It will be warm tomorrow and summer is returning for awhile. Yay!

Hope you didn't have a crappy day, Blippers. I really, really do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.