Desperately seeking

By clickychick

A Dreadful Day

After coffee at the nature reserve, using their WI-Fi to load blips, we wondered what to do in Staffordshire today. Yesterday we had picked up a brochure of places to visit. We noticed a Factory Shop of the firm we buy our lodge tableware was advertised and we wanted some plates. We travelled for over 30 minutes to find that the Churchill shop only opened at weekends. There was a layby on the road outside, marked with one of those blue P signs, so we stopped. I was due a call from Cardiology in 10 minutes. Very soon a security guard came to find out what we were doing! He said the layby was private property - wait for it- owned by the company we had wanted to visit. I told him I was a customer, disappointed to not be able to go in. He could see the NHS letters on my lap and, begrudgingly allowed me to stay a few minutes. 

The call never came so we went to our next venue. Well, we tried to find an attraction in Bursalem. Everywhere was looking run-down and we never found the place. On, then!

A visitor at Wedgwood yesterday had recomended The Gladstone Museum to us and it was only a short drive away. It had a cafe and we needed lunch. 

Well, it was just a snack bar so we made do with coffee, cake and crisps while I got in touch with Cardiology. They had tried to ring my mobile but I had it out on my lap all the time with no missed calls.

So, refreshments taken we went to reception for museum tickets. "Oh, it's a bit late to go in now! We close at 3pm". Oh goodness, it was 2pm, we hoped to spend the afternoon there. When we got outside we saw that it was meant to stay open until 5pm.

"What shall we do?" on to Stone to look at the shops. I've used this town for canal shopping but the nice hardware shop had gone.

Finally a call came through from Cardiology to find out how I was and to answer questions. My meds are to be stepped up to the next level with my doctor monitoring my progress, then I will be given an extra drug. What was heartening was that medication has much improved for patients like me and my heart is expected to make some recovery!

I'd got quite churned up waiting for this call and didn't feel like eating but we looked for a pub we see from the canal and had an evening meal at The Plum Pudding in Armitage -very nice place - great staff - enjoyable meal. A good end to the day.

I didn't know what the things I've blipped were but The Man says they're the insulators you see on electricity pylons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.