Life through the lens...

By ValC

Pickling.

I wonder who remembers ‘ Nearest and Dearest’ ?
A sitcom on ITV 1968 - 1973 about a brother and sister, Eli and Nellie Pledge, forced to run a pickle factory together.
Nellie played to perfection by the late Hilda Baker and Eli played by Jimmy Jewel.
Just thinking about it makes me smile. I can picture Nellie and her strong Lancashire accent. She could belt out a malapropism better than Mrs Malaprop herself.
“ I can say that without contraception “ and “ you haven’t had the pleasure of me yet”. Are just two.
I know it’s old fashioned humour but still makes me laugh more than a lot of today’s so called humour.
( Must be getting old. Sound like my mum!)
So I have had my pinny on peeling onions.
Soaking overnight in brine and then bottled in Malt pickling vinegar tomorrow.

A miserable wet day ........again.
However I have a warming ‘ Bish Bash Posh sausage cassoulet in the oven. Perfect comfort food for this weather.
It’s made with a packet of Gordon Rhodes gourmet sauce mix. ( Don’t you love the name!) just added to veg. beans and sausages.
Now a bottle of Malbec should go with it nicely.

Think tomorrow’s weather sounds better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.