Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cobham Mill

We had a wonderful dinner out with our friends last night, we went to a pub that is well known for it's steak and although I seldom eat red meat these days, I ordered a steak and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had! Perfectly cooked and so tender.

This morning it was raining and grey, but the sun soon came out and it has been sunny all day. I went back into Cobham as I wanted to photograph the flooded fields and flooded road but of course the flooding has now subsided. It always take about a day after the rain falls for the river to flood. This is the Cobham Mill, built in the early 19th century and still a fully working mill. You can see how high the water level is here, yesterday at those higher levels it would have flooded the mill.

I spent some time selecting images for a PAGB (Photographic Alliance of Great Britain) inter club competition that is coming up - we submit a number of images and the selection committee of our camera club then chooses whose images will be submitted to represent the club - they don't always get it right! I had to choose images for three different competitions so it took me a while to do this.

I also ordered some Christmas presents today. I am slowly chipping away at my Christmas list and I have nearly done all the shopping for the boys - Gavin is much harder to buy for and he never wants anything so it makes my task impossible. Tommy is very amused that I started buying presents in October - of course his generation usually order a gift the day before Christmas and then wonder why it does not arrive in time for Christmas!

No change in Xena's bumps just yet, the vet said it takes some time for skin conditions to respond to antibiotics.  

I am looking forward to a relaxing evening watching TV - I have too much to watch at the moment and am not getting through it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.