Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another fungi!

Today I set off on another fungi hunt - sorry if all the fungi images are getting boring, I am a bit obsessed with them at the moment. I wish I knew how to identify them, I must go on one of the field courses that are offered around here, or at least buy a fungi identification book (a Christmas present hint!). Xena is really good and sits and waits when I am photographing the fungi, but other dogs who come along see her and come bounding up to her, and twice today the other dogs stomped all over the fungi and broke them...annoying!

Last week Xena got some small bumps on her back which I thought were allergy related - her breed is quite sensitive to allergies from eating something they shouldn't. However the bumps soon became pinkish sores which are now crusting over, and she has lost hair where the sores are. Today she developed two more bumps so I took her to the vet this afternoon and the vet is sure it is a bacterial infection of the hair follicles, as she said the bumps look infected which is something that is common in English Bulldogs but not seen that often in Hungarian Vizslas. She has been given a 10 day course of antibiotics which will hopefully do the trick, and if not she will have to have the bumps biopsied. 

The trees that fell in the storm on Wednesday night have all been removed but now the roads leading into Cobham are all flooded. I didn't think that we had that much rain, but of course the rain from higher up the river has washed down in the River Mole which runs alongside the high street of Cobham, and the river has burst its banks with the street being flooded and all the surrounding field looking like lakes. It took forever to drive through the high water, it should be closed but with the other road works closing off roads they cannot block access entirely.

Tonight Gavin and I are going out with friends for supper. I offered to make supper for Tommy so I don't get the evening off cooking! He does not expect me to cook for him but I wanted to make him a nice dinner.

Meriel arrived home today and is very glad to be back in the UK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.