Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Dainty little fungi

Last night we had an enjoyable time at our book club evening, and when we stepped outside to leave at the end of the evening we realised that Storm Ciaran had arrived, it was very windy and raining. It is really tricky to get around our area at the moment as the council, in their wisdom, have multiple road works going on at the same time (for gas works and power lines) so many roads are closed. This is in addition to the massive roadworks going on at the Wisley Interchange of the M25/A3, the busiest section of the M25, which is a 3-4 year project costing around £300 million, which makes travelling on the motorway also a problem. So getting anywhere around here is a nightmare these days. Getting home after book club was a challenge last night as with the closed roads I had only one direct route to get home - and about 2 miles from our house I could not get through due to a large fallen tree. I changed my route, I had to do a lengthy detour through another village - and again, met another fallen tree, but in this case the police were there at midnight removing the tree. I finally got home so late, my 20 minute journey taking over an hour. 

Today was not as stormy as I expected, I managed to walk Xena without getting wet and it was not windy - the wind arrived in the afternoon. I photographed more fungi today, and clearly from my title I have no idea which type of fungi these are...some kind of bonnet is my guess.

I am hoping Gavin won't have a problem flying back from Edinburgh today. Meriel is also very pleased to be leaving Chad today - she arrives back home tomorrow as there are no direct flights from N'Djamena. She also got ill yesterday with a fever, vomiting and aching muscles and was taken to the hospital as they were concerned about malaria, but thankfully tested negative for that so it probably is some kind of tummy bug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.