wanderingsailor

By wanderingsailor

Constable country

We had to go to Ipswich and then Colchester to buy plumbing bits to finish off the replacement gutters and drainpipes. I was feeling very lacking in inspiration when we took a short detour off the A12 through Stratford-St-Mary.We stopped in a lay-by near Le Talbooth , a beautifully situated but expensive restaurant often used as a wedding venue. A small underpass under the busy A12 takes you to the river and this beautiful view. There were myriads of vivid blue damsel flies (Agrion splendens I think ,looking in my rudimentary insect book ) which I tried to capture on camera. Sadly they were not in absolutely sharp focus so I'll have to go back & try again. There are footpaths along the river Stour to Dedham,then Flatford and on to Brantham. I think we must try and do this walk - it's beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.