Living my dream

By Mima

Bitsa this and bitsa that

I found this beautifully-constructed Silver Eye’s nest biffed out of the raspberries, still attached to a cane. Presumably the eggs had been predated by a possum or a cat which had broken the cane in the process.

It is exquisite; constructed from moss, fine twigs, pieces of hay, some of Puddles the old gray horse’s tail hair, and lambs’ wool. It would have provided the softest, warmest and cosiest nest for chicks. 

But even though it’s sad to see it empty, it’s just as well it’s no longer in the raspberries because I’ve put up the bird netting over the currants and berries now, and the adult/s and chicks would have been trapped inside. Which means I must check for more nests and carefully relocate any I find very close by.

It has rained almost all day, which was not forecast, but which is most welcome. I’ve tried hard to accept an indoors day and have made a Gouda cheese, caught up with some podcasts and eventually walked Bean in a downpour.

How can an indoors day be so exhausting? I’m looking forward to my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.