talloplanic views

By Arell

Going through the motions

Backblip

My work has a pretty well stocked lending library of books and DVDVDs.  I've done quite well out of it for what I call Friday Film Night, chez Arell, because a) I'm a dinosaur with an ancient computer, and b) have no TV, Netflix, Prime or any of that stuff.  I haven't done FFN for a while.

I found a Ewan McGregor film called The Island.  I'd never heard of it, but the blurb said it was a sort of sci-fi thing and I quite like McGregor.  It turned out to be kind of a near*-future cross between The Matrix and Escape from New York.  It was certainly quite watchable, although not edge of the seat watching like The Abyss was, the first time I saw it.  Problem was, like everything made since computer graphics were invented, it was all very CGIish and whizbang split-second whooshy camerawork and explosions and blue flashy lasers, which frankly all got a bit tiring.  The sets were magnificent, though.  The august stage actor and Trek alumnus Ethan Phillips was in it too, and was a good supporting character.

* and now in the past

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.