Arachne

By Arachne

This is Henry Webster, playing inverted violin and viola at the same time, pizzicato on open strings. I was mesmerised by the melody he extracted from this set-up and was sure that one instrument must have been retuned. But he played them both afterwards without retuning so not so. He and the guitarist, Elliott Morris, make up Kyntra who were opening for Project Smok at Hootananny in Brixton.

Secondborn and I were wowed by Project Smok at WOMAD last year, especially by Ali Levack who plays whistle better than anyone I've ever heard, so this was a joint outing. Except that she was travelling from Cambridge and I from Oxford so it was quite something that we got to Brixton tube station within 6 minutes of each other about half an hour earlier than we'd aimed for.

Brixton was home before circumstances took us to Oxford and I was overcome with homesickness as I came out of the tube station and as we walked through the market in Electric Avenue (are you singing that now too?!). I took her to the house we moved out of when she was 2½ and showed her the bedroom window behind which she was born.

I wonder what that other life would have been like...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.