The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wild Pink

Down by the canal. Summer is not quite over, even as the leaves turn  to flame and the nights grow longer. The car dealership at the main road junction  has shut up shop. Unlike spring, it will not return. 

Meanwhile, in NZ where my sister TML isn't because she's in Bahrain, and my brother isn't because he's relocated to Scotland, it is springtime already. 1st December will be their 'first day of summer'. Today I calculated that it's only 6.5 weeks to the shortest day. 

I'd spent the morning in bed (blissful!) then lunch, a bath and a walk along the canal and then the Frome banks nature reserve towards town. The latter is very muddy because the Frome is swollen, but I love this walk because it feels remote from town, even though the bypass is no further than 100 yards away. Mostly I loved this walk because I did not have to worry about GG's balance, unsuitable footwear, nor her time pressures, because she wasn't with me. I'd told everyone except S that I wanted a day to myself, because I was tired. No word of a lie!

S and I are going to Daisybank (park) later to see the fireworks. I'm hopeful that CleanSteve will come with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.