ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Seacliff - modestly reworked

I've been shocked at the impact of Storm Ciaran on the beaches of the east of Scotland. We went to Seacliff today, and while it was not as dramatic a transformation as we have seen at Shandwick Beach, it was certainly a noticeable change. The sea has eroded the sand quite substantially, revealing a whole area of rocks which were not previously visible, and cutting away at the hillside (removing one of the previous access points to the beach, down some wooden steps). People had been out doing a deep clean of debris on the beach (see second extra). The sea was also being a bit unpredictable and I nearly got caught by an incoming wave. Actually, I did get caught with it, as my efforts to avoid the wave involved backpeddling rapidly. I ended up tripping over a rock as I headed backwards and taking a bit of a prat fall on my bum. But I kept my camera out of the water, so that's all that mattered, and while my legs and feet got a bit damp, there were no further repercussions.

When we arrived at the beach car park around 9.30 (having paid the now £5 fee on the new card machine even though the barrier was not down - are we too naive?), there were only a couple of cars already there. They were obviously kayakers, and the men in the cars were getting ready, it seemed, to go out on the water.

We wandered on to the beach, marvelling at the changes, heading over to the north side of the beach for a view of the harbour cut out of the rock, and Tantallon castle (see blip). As we came back forty minutes later, I could see some figures in the water, and I realised it was four women in the water, evidently in skins, enjoying a bit of wave jumping (see first extra). I was so jealous. Some bags or buckets were stowed behind the rocks. It seemed a very familiar scene. When we went back to the car park, there were more kayakers' cars there, and the various occupants, probably all, or mostly, men were *still* getting ready for their fun on the water.

In the mean time, four women had arrived, probably in one car to reduce the cost of the car park, gone on the beach, stripped, and gone in the water. Honestly, those women would be out of the water, changed and dressed in their towelling robes and dry robes, swaddled in endorphins from the experience of wave jumping in cold water, and either in a local cafe, or enjoying a picnic in the car park, before the blokes were even on the water, at that rate. I know which activity makes more sense to me.

We left them all to it, and went to Drift Cafe, to enjoy its spectacular location on the cliffs looking out to sea. An excellent bacon roll and an acceptable coffee were enjoyed, before we headed home.

Since then, I've finished the book group book (The Wren, The Wren) and we watched three episodes of the latest series of University Challenge, slowly catching up on those who enjoy their quizzy Mondays synchronously. I've also obsessed about the travails of Fiona the Sheep, who was previously trapped below the cliffs just south of Shandwick Beach. Oh, and I washed the windows that were coated in Saharan sand from the southerly/easterly gales.

A good Sunday in the best weather we've seen for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.