rockit

By rockit

(310) The Dubbie

The weather today was perfect for cycling and flying so I took the drone out with me and headed for the coast. First stop was Dysart and an aerial look at the headfame of the former Frances coal mine, known locally as 'The Dubbie.' The pit never re-opened after the 1984 miners strike and the headframe stands now as a memorial to the Fife coal-mining industry.
The first extra is a view from behind the head frame showing the close proximity of the pit to the sea. Edinburgh is visible in the distance. The second extra is from Kirkcaldy harbour where a grain shipment was being unloaded for Carr's Hutchison mill. I've watched the unloading process before from ground level and wondered how the bucket grab was able to get to the last of the shipment when the ship's hold was almost empty. I got my answer today when the aerial view revealed a Bobcat loader and a guy with a broom pushing the remaining grain into heaps for the bucket grab. The flour mill for which the grain is destined is apparently the most technologically advanced mill in the UK today so maybe I was expecting something a bit more sophisticated in the unloading process. 

Music tonight is completely unrelated to today's blip but is the result of a conscious effort to revisit music that I've not listened to for years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.