Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3234. Next Project…

My step daughter really likes my fingerless mittens and she was asking where I got them from…I couldn’t remember so I popped into our lovely wool shop this morning and bought this pattern to make some for her for Christmas.  Mine have fur fabric on them so I’m going to try and get some fabric to sew onto them so that they look like mine.

I’ve bought a lovely presentation box so I thought I’d make a hat to go with them and put them both into the box.
I started to make them but they’ve come up really small so I’m going to have to go back to the wool shop for another set of larger needles as I only have up to 10mm at home and I think I need 12mm ones for the main body of the mittens.

I also bought a beautiful sweater from one of our charity shops this morning, it’s brand new still has the designer label tags on it, but it had a label on it saying, “Please repair me”.  I was intrigued by this as I buy a lot of second hand clothes and rarely buy new these days as far too many clothes end up going into landfill.  I had a good look at the sweater and saw that the seam had come undone at the neck…it just needed a match to the yarn and a quick repair to make it look brand new again.  I bought embroidery yarn exactly the same colour and have stitched it all so that’s it perfect again.  I’m going to give it to my eldest for their birthday and I will tell them it’s repaired to save it from landfill.  I do so hate waste and I know that they also appreciate the effort that it takes to repair, upcycle, recycle etc….

I am on a roll with my Christmas present buying, having popped over to the craft fair yesterday and got a couple more, I do like to be organised by the start of December so that I can start to help my youngest with his buying, we always make something, so it’s chocolates and flavoured vodka this year.  I have bottles and he has the ingredients for the chocolate…so all we need now is some fancy packaging and he will be all organised!
Our painter turned up today and the house in in chaos but it will be finished today!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.