Shutterup

By Shutterup

Project update

To say I am thrilled with having completed one project is an understatement!!  The upcycled dressing table is now upstairs and the drawers are lined. Styling the top is in progress and today I decided to try and reuse a lovely mahogany jewelry box that belonged to my mother and been out of use since I inherited it. Currently I have a lot of necklaces hanging on a mirror attached to the old dressing table and the mirror is going so I thought it would be nice to have a treasure chest arrangement!!  Unfortunately to achieve that I have started a new project!!  The hideous interior of the box!! tattered old silver paper and hideous violet silk (that is being kind I think it might be 1950s nylon) which was rouched into the lid..( horrid!) has been ripped out.. and now a new plan is afoot to fix it up!!  It used to have a secret letter space in the lid which had been glued down so I think I might try to reinstate that somehow.. sweet!  I think the rouched fabric will not be replaced and instead I will paper line it. At least that is todays plan but as you can see there is no going back!!
Inside the box were various found treasures of my mothers.  I pawed through the collection of 'interesting' stones and finds.. glass, china, and fossils and have selected the ones that I could feel were special. I could sense her excitement as she picked them up and stuffed them into a pocket while out walking. She taught me that excitement from a young age but I am learning to only keep the very best bits and not the rest.. so out go the lumps of odd stuff and the other more interesting pieces will be kept in a different treasure box.  The fossilised tooth is intriguing.. could it be shark..seal.. dinosaur? ... perhaps it will be blipped one day or a photo sent to a museum for a better id. 
Happy Monday all.. 

First day get rid of mothy drawers
A start
Thought I was done

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.