nogbad's blips

By nogbad

This way

On Wednesday I am hoping to take a train from Maidstone West to St Pancras station in That London. Because I'm going early, I felt it wise to purchase my ticket in advance, so I headed into town to do that. At Maidstone West the ticket office was closed despite the web site saying that it would be open, so I looked at the ticket machine. I really couldn't find anything that would cover my needs - I want a ticket that includes high-speed routes and includes travel during the rush hour on Wednesday and returns on Saturday evening. Rather than faff around I decided to try Maidstone East, we have three stations in Maidstone, though Barracks is less than half a mile along the same track as Maidstone West. Barracks dates back to when Maidstone had a large garrison of infantry and cavalry. Now there is a much smaller garrison of Gurkha engineers at Invicta Park, and they are not reliant on rail travel.

Anyway, over to East I go - it's busiest station and has a big shiney new ticket office. This was open but I think I disturbed the chap from having a cup of tea because he didn't seem pleased to leave the back office when he saw me; it's that or I look like trouble. I explained my needs and a casual observer, seeing his reaction, might have thought that I'd asked for the moon on a piece of string. He frowned, sucked through his teeth and started stabbing buttons on his terminal. He finally came back with an off-peak return at £37.00 but when I checked that it covered early morning on Wednesday he scowled, screwed up the receipt that he'd already printed and went at the machine again. In the end I needed two tickets; an Anytime Day Single (outbound) and a Super Off-peak Day Single (to come home) - a total of £57 and a few pence. I'd never have sorted this on my own, I'm so glad that the government has seen sense and decided to keep ticket offices open.

I also had an errand in town and I grabbed this shot in the Fremlin Walk shopping arcade, it seems that much of it is boarded up while work is carried out.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.