JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Luca

This rather jumbled image captures a quiet moment in the midst of a hectic few days. Luca likes to explore Eben's drum kit when he's on his own and free to try out the various sounds and textures on the drums and cymbals.  For a few minutes, he can lose himself completely in this, and it's lovely to watch.
This week, we have a convergence of Jack and Marianna being away for work, necessarily taking Simone with them, and Josh planning to go away for a few days' long-overdue holiday with some mates. So this morning I got up at 5, so that I could be at J and M's by 6, when they needed to leave for Walsall (where M is leading a two-day residential teacher training workshop, and J is entertaining Simone in between breastfeeds). Later I had breakfast with Frieda, and walked with her to preschool. Meanwhile, Richard picked Luca up from Ruth and Josh's, and we all met back at our house. Then in the early afternoon, I took Luca with me to pick Frieda up, and we went to Ruth and Josh's for tea. F and L helped Ruth to make flatbreads - an inspired idea from R.  Then I took Eben to his drum lesson, while Ruth bathed Luca and Frieda. Josh isn't away yet, but works late on a Monday. I got back with Eben, picked up Frieda -  now in her pyjamas - and took her to our house for that magical event, 'a sleepover'. F was missing her Mum and Dad by then, but we managed to brighten things up with some stories and a cuddly bedtime.
Josh is due to go away on Thursday, so we'll be having Eben and Luca for a sleepover (or two) at some point, I think, before he gets home next  Monday night.
I record all this for my own sake really, wanting to remember how these occasional hectic patches work out. I know that all too soon, the grandkids will be away and doing their own thing. The busy times are tiring, but I wouldn't have it any other way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.