Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘Beauty in the Mundane’

Taking advantage of the extra hour of morning daylight we got just over a week ago when the clocks went back (now fast disappearing again, I should add!) I was out in the park by 7.30, just before dawn.

Unusually, at this time, the park looked quite empty, and I was struck by how peaceful it looked! Mundane, perhaps, but each time beautiful, and this morning a bit more so, too!

My route from this point takes me to the right past the pond, with its swans and ducks and other wildlife, and twice anti-clockwise around the perimeter of the park before heading for the centre and up a path to the far end. I must have done this route several hundred times over the past 18 months!

But today, I suddenly felt I needed to break this habit and go the other way round - up the slope to the left.

So to go the other way round was a subtly - and slightly disconcertingly - new experience, with different inclines and different views! Quite a break with habit, in fact, with all that entails!

I hadn't gone far up the hill when I stopped to look at the sky. It's in the extra, and I captured it just two minutes after the official sunrise today here in Edinburgh. 

I have left it unedited - more beauty in the mundane!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.