Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

A bit of a morning today! I spotted one heron on the tenement roof this morning. It turned out to be the young male and when he spotted me he flew down and landed on the main road. Thankfully the lights had just turned to green so the traffic was still slow moving but a car did have to stop before he took off and landed in the park. I hope he has learned his lesson or I will need to take a different route up. When I got into the park I was greeted by the crows, the young male and the little female (pictured). I fed them both then made my way round to find the male. He was standing on the path waiting for me so I started feeding him. Then a spaniel came running down towards him. He took off but didn't clear the top of the tree and crashed into the branches. He pushed his way through and was off! I thought that will have knocked him back months but no, he landed at the water's edge behind the fence a few feet away. I walked up and continued feeding him and made my way home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.