This is the day

By wrencottage

Old fashioned girl ...

… who finds great pleasure in old fashioned service and style. This parcel may only have contained a dozen linen dish cloths, but that didn’t stop me drooling over the old-style brown paper parcel, all tied up with slip-knotted string (and, in a nod to the 21st century, sticky tape).

I love the tissue paper inside, with the delivery note signed by the dispatcher in gold ink. Little touches which make me smile and brighten up my day.

And the dish cloths themselves? I love them. If you’ve ever eaten in a Betty’s café in Yorkshire you will see the staff wiping down the tables with them. I put a freshly-laundered one out every day, and they last so well I probably won’t need to order any more for well over two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.