talloplanic views

By Arell

Time to put your Inking Caps on

I took myself out this morning on a rambling and somewhat offroady ride to deliver Dad his custom mudflap.  I actually meant to ride the bridle path up to the Braid Hill radio mast and plummet down the other side, but I haven't cycled it for probably 25 years and I took the wrong road, so I found myself at Mortonhall House instead.  No matter, it's all familar territory and it gave me a chance to be amongst the trees.

On my different but equally somewhat offroady ride home again I came across a few of these toadstools growing in a grass verge.  They are but younglings; as the cap peels itself upwards they will grow into Shaggy Ink Caps, Coprinus comatus.  I didn't pick any, but in the young form they are very edible and good in risotto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.