JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Brassicas

It stopped raining this afternoon, so I put my wellies on and investigated the soggy brassica bed. The soil is too wet to walk on, but I knew more cauliflowers would be ready to pick; I also brought in two more cabbages, which I'm trying to save from the slugs, and a heap of very enthusiastic curly kale. It took a while to clean and sort it all before it could go in the fridge; some of it will be bagged for freezing, but quite a lot will be the basis of tomorrow's meals. P cooks, but I do most of the picking, processing and preserving.

This is a poor, electric light photo from a day when I didn't get round to photography, and my final entry for tonight. I've caught up with three days, this being the most boring and least photogenic, so if you have time you might flick back to Tuesday and Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.