biddy

By biddy

The last Ingrid Bergman rose……

……in the garden this afternoon.
It’s sitting on the front windowsill in the golden autumnal light.
The sky is a clear icy blue right now at 15:45.
The wind is biting.
Stephen had to clear ice off the car windows early this morning before he went shopping,
I planted the remainder of the snowdrops and did some more deadheading of the shrub roses, which are still flowering!
Next week I will however give them a light pruning before the winter sets in eventually.
I cut them back by a third each November.
Some of the standard roses are still flowering so eventually I will cut the blooms and bring them inside, in order to give them a pruning as well.
The main pruning I do in March.
The light is now beginning to fade, and we have a few sparrows flitting about in the Climbing Hydrangea.
It makes you feel like snuggling down with a book.
Which is just what a I am going to do next!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.