The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Thursday 9th November 2023)

Another rainy day. I did go into Calne to vote in our local election and on the way I had a chat to one of the prospective councillors just after I left the cottage. Most of the acer leaves have now fallen and I gathered a few to photograph in the porch.
In the evening I watched Nandor Fodor And The Talking Mongoose (Simon Pegg, Minnie Driver). I enjoyed it but it turned out to be a bit of a shaggy dog story; less than the sum of its parts somehow.

Blip #3991 (#3741 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #005
Blips/Extras In 2023 #197/265 + #087/100 Extras
Day #4976 (1177 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3131 (#2971 + 160 in archived blips)

Acer series
Leaves series
Flora series
Macro series
Rain series
Still Life series

Taken with Pentax K-5 and Pentax  D FA Macro 100mm F2.8 WR prime lens

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Frankie Archer - Oxford City (2023)
I recently heard this on The Folk Show and again on Later With Jools Holland. It nagged at me because I seemed to know the song well, but the internet and the site Second Hand Songs didn't seem to know of it. It is indeed a traditional song (Roud 218) but had previously been known as Newport Street, Jealousy, Cup Of Poison and Worcester City, which turned out to be the version I knew from Eliza Carthy's Anglicana album (and also recorded by Nic Jones). Frankie Archer has made a fresh new arrangement of it.


One year ago:
The Old Forge (Pelargonium monochrome)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.