Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A wet walk

Today was wetter than I was expecting. I decided not to walk Xena after breakfast as I hoped it would be drier later, so I went and did the grocery shopping instead. I bought a few things for the weekend and also had to go to the pharmacy.

After I got home and packed the shopping away, then I took Xena to the woods. It was still raining but only lightly. The colours are looking lovely, as we have a lot of beech and birches in the woods and they seem to give the best colour.

This afternoon I spent ages looking for things on the internet that I want to buy as Christmas presents. I have always shopped online but since the pandemic it really makes sense to shop online as shops don't carry stock like they used to, so if you go in person you can never find the right size or colour. Many things already have Black Friday discounts so some good bargains were found!

Poor Tommy is still not well but he is very stubborn and won't take any medication. I just hope it is not bronchitis. He has his college rugby alumni dinner tomorrow night and does not feel well enough to enjoy it. 

Usually on a Friday night we get take aways but I have gone off that idea, I prefer to cook something easy and healthy. Take away food from a restaurant is the same price as dining in, and it should not be - it comes in excessive packaging and there is too much plastic - and it is usually too calorific and unhealthy. Nothing beats a simple home cooked meal - tonight it is Rukmini Iyer's Keralan prawn - I do love her recipes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.