suehutton

By suehutton

The Temple of Venus from the north

Still sorting photos for a book as a present and have decided to make a pdf using Blurb in Lightroom. TBH, it's quicker and time is counting down.

No market in Shepshed today because the fair is on in Loughborough. The greengrocers and the fishmongers wouldn't get the footfall they need just by coming to Shepshed. I'm sorry I can't get to Loughborough for the fair but it's probably futile trying to struggle against the crowds while on crutches. More's the pity.

Instead, I decided to drive along the bottom stretch of Coach Road on to the newly opened bridleway across the Garendon Estate. It was a superb afternoon and the Autumn colours were glowing.

First of all, we couldn't find the key to the scooter and secondly Basil refused to get out of his chair to join me. I just grabbed the spare key and left Basil behind. It is a wonderful walk but I do wonder who will maintain the woodland and the road surfaces. They already look rather worse for wear.

My journey took me behind the ridge on which the Temple of Venus sits. The sun was fading rapidly. I hope I get the chance to visit again before the trees lose all their leaves but next week's forecast does not look great.

In the meantime, Len found the scooter key in my grey bag (oops). I asked him to screw a cup hook into the board in the kitchen and hang the key from there. Seems like a satisfactory solution so long as we both remember to put the key back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.