Ryde Pier Head Station

In spite of the many hours of sleep I still not not wake in a good mood and I turned down all breakfast and coffee offers. We were out of the flat and to Ryde Pier Head in time for the 10:45 ferry.  I didn’t notice on Friday night but as part of the repair and refurbishment of the pier they have removed a lot of the unused central steel works that, I think, are to be replaced with a new walkway.  Most strikingly, the side panels have been removed from the station and it’s exposed now. It’s a view that won’t be available for too long.

We arrived at Portsmouth Harbour station in plenty of time for a train that departed just after 11:30am and got us into Guildford just before 1pm.  From Guildford we had to wait for a connecting rail replacement bus to Woking where we went for a buffet lunch with PY’s family, some of whom were down from Yorkshire. I was still not very hungry or thirsty but I was persuaded to eat and drink a little. It was a nice pleasant afternoon. Phil drove us to Weybridge station in time for the 7:16pm to Wimbledon and.thus, we avoided the bus back to Guildford. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.