Marionb

By Marionb

Light the Candle...

..Use the Good China ... Good advice posted recently by fellow blipper Pedros that I decided to take to heart! 

Life is short..so my sister and I decided to get out one of my "good china" sets for a cuppa when we got home from shopping today...and I actually lit a candle in honour of Pedros for his encouragement and the inspiration to do so!   (My candles usually just sit around looking nice, implying, falsely, that I lead an elegant life-by-candlelight...)

Back to the china thing.. It was so lovely drinking tea out of an actual tea cup..like, when is the last time I drank tea out of a tea cup? I hate to think...We tend to be mug people around here...Well, I see now what I have been missing and I may never go back..The ritual of making tea in a a pot instead of dumping a teabag into a mug was fun and, oh yes, the tea even seemed to taste better in a tea cup!

During all this, I thought that perhaps I should make an effort to use my good china tea cups every day - maybe a different one each day? I have lots, so that could end up being a whole blip series! Aha..Emergency blips galore! Hmmmm

So why not start now...

Today's Cup? (extra) Royal Doulton English Renaissance  - which was, back when I was married, our "good china". Methinks we might have over-estimated the style of life we were about to lead..you know, formal dinner parties entertaining friends and hosting family dinners etc? Well, we were off the mark on that one......a BBQ on the back deck was more like it! 

But, hey, I still love the china..and it is time to get those dishes off the shelf!  Does it matter if they can't go in the dishwasher? What the heck..who said? Put them in anyway! Who is going to care years from now if the gold is a bit faded or even worn off? Me? Not! 

So, for now, I am going to try to live a more elegant life - at least in the afternoons...:)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.