This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Colour on a dreich day

G was signed up to golf today but it was miserable weather, so instead we went for breakfast at the Tree House, picked up a few groceries, and dropped off the recycling. I found some colour by the coast guard dock then saw a float plane coming in to land (extra).
Some info about the last few days. On Tuesday I had an appointment with a neurologist in Nanaimo. Last December, our family doctor referred me to him because I started shaking involuntarily, and I finally got in to see the neurologist nearly a year later. I was a wee bit worried because there's a history of Parkinson's in the family. The neurologist was great, did a thorough test, and diagnosed essential tremor disorder. Until it starts to really bother me, I don't need to take medication. I was relieved. On to the next appointment in Victoria, MRIs on both knees. I had to stay overnight in Victoria on Wednesday night because my appointment was at 12:45 AM on Thursday! I had to be at the hospital at 12:15, and I was worried that I would fall asleep and miss the appointment. I asked for a wake up call at the motel just in case, but I managed to stay awake and made it in plenty of time. The technologist told me that MRIs are done 24 hours a day, and they're fully booked. The doctor should get the result in a week or so. I got an email from him asking to confirm an appointment on Nov. 14, so I'm assuming that he'll have the results then. I've had a few falls over the past three years or so, and one knee locks quite often, very painful, and the other one is hurting. I don't think there's anything too serious, and I'm looking forward to finding out what's going on. I'm confident that I'll continue to be active and will deal with any issues. It was a tiring week and I'm still feeling tired, so I'm planning on a relaxing weekend.
As I drove into Victoria by myself on Wednesday, I thought about how much I love driving. I've driven thousands of miles over the years. My job with NITEP required me to give presentations at schools, different community locations and career fairs about the program, to recruit and interview potential students, to supervise the student teachers in practica as well as teaching, and to go to meetings and events at UBC. Many of these were miles away from where I lived and worked and I always enjoyed hitting the road, seeing new parts of the province, and meeting so many interesting people. I don't get the chance to hit the road now, so when I do, I take pleasure in being behind the wheel.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.