Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

In the pouring rain

At 08:00 this morning, it already was quite hectic around my house.
Two containers were delivered and 12m3 new sand was dumped on the street. A shovel and an excavator were making loud noises.
Roelof Naafs and two of his workers came to make the garden ready for the construction of our new 8x4.5m canopy and shed.
The weather was horrible. We worked on until 14:30 and the downpour never stopped. At least I didn't notice that. 
We all worked very hard and I walked with wheelbarrows all the time, just like the rest. First soil and tree roots had to be removed, and also some railway sleepers that had been used as foundations for the former shed.
I'd said that there were 3 or 4 railway sleepers. In total 14 were dug up!! Large and small ones. We all wondered why so much were used in the past.
Once the soil was gone, new sand had to be brought back. So the wheelbarrowing went on in reverse.
At some point I suddenly started to appreciate my work in the accountancy much more again. Always dry, plenty of coffee (today as well though, thanks Annemarie!) and a chair....

But I'm happy we've reached this point now. Next week, Wednesday/Thursday, they'll be back to start building the long awaited shed and canopy.

At 14:30 I was, just like yesterday, having a hot shower. Comforting my sore back, legs and arm muscles. The rest of the afternoon I spent horizontally, watching final episodes of Vikings on Netflix. Outside, the downpour continued.

In the extra a few more of today's work. Including the result so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.