talloplanic views

By Arell

Cold fire

I had a pretty chilly cycle into town this morning in pursuit of Christmas presents, or at least, Christmas present ideas.  First things first, though.  But oh!  It wasn't even lunchtime and yet I was too late at Kafe Kweer for any croissants or cookies – they'd sold every last one of them :-( – so I consoled myself with a huge focaccia to have later on.  Around the corner is Laid Back Bikes, who really ought to change their name to Huge Electric Cargo Bikes, and I only meant to say a quick hello but there was lots of bicycular news to chat about and I think I was there for more than an hour.

I did eventually escape further into town and browsed a shop or two, with some success.  I'd also half-planned to look at walking shoes afterwards, but I was too cold by then and just wanted to get home.  On the way I parked myself on Bruntsfield Links and had a bit of food, and the sunshine was pouring through the trees.  Two other people had their cameras out as well.

In one of the farms beyond the bypass I spotted a big bonfire.  The white smoke was rising no more than 30 or 40 metres before it stratified, and the gentle breeze spread the smoke in a very thin layer half a mile across the fields.  I took a photo but my phone couldn't really do the spectacle justice, so you'll just have to imagine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.